History of SBC

SBC Fast Facts

About the Sustainable Business Council – Our history

1999: New Zealand Business Council for Sustainable Development formed

Formed in May 1999, the New Zealand Business Council for Sustainable Development (NZBCSD) was a coalition of leading businesses with a shared commitment to sustainable development. It provided business leadership advocating for sustainable development, demonstrating business progress and sharing leading-edge best practices, participation in government policy development and global outreach including through a partnership with the World Business Council for Sustainable Development.

The NZBCSD represented New Zealand business at the United Nations World Summit on Sustainable Development in 2002. Projects included guides on Sustainable Development Reporting, Business and School Partnerships, and Youth Employment. Other areas of activity were zero waste, climate change and sustainable labelling. Supply chain and emissions management projects were also developed.

Adapted from: https://www.moneymatters.co.nz/page/88/nz-business-council-for-sustainable-development

The NZBCSD’s first project, and a condition of membership, was triple-bottom-line reporting, sometimes known as sustainable development reporting. A reporting guideline was officially launched in 2002. A number of NZBCSD members issued sustainable development reports, including Hubbard Foods, Meridian Energy, Mighty River Power, Sanford Seafoods, Landcare Research, the Warehouse and Urgent Couriers.

By 2008 the council had 66 members, from the resource, manufacturing, retailing and service sectors, generating 34% of New Zealand’s GDP.

Source: https://teara.govt.nz/en/employer-and-business-organisations/page-6

Early members

At at October 2002, the following companies were members:

  • 3M New Zealand Ltd
  • BOC Gases New Zealand Ltd
  • BP Oil New Zealand Ltd
  • City Care Ltd
  • Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu
  • Fonterra Co-operative Group Ltd
  • Hubbard Foods Ltd
  • Interface Agencies Ltd
  • Landcare Research
  • Living Earth Ltd
  • Meridian Energy Ltd
  • Mighty River Power Ltd
  • Milburn New Zealand Ltd
  • Minter Ellison Rudd Watts
  • Money Matters (NZ) Ltd
  • Morel & Co
  • Natural Gas Corporation Holdings Ltd
  • NIWA
  • Palliser Estate Wines of Martinborough Ltd
  • Port of Tauranga Ltd
  • PricewaterhouseCoopers
  • Richmond Ltd
  • Sanford Ltd
  • Shell New Zealand Ltd
  • Simpson Grierson
  • Telecom New Zealand Ltd
  • The Boston Consulting Group
  • The Warehouse Group Ltd
  • Toyota New Zealand Ltd
  • Transfield Services (New Zealand) Ltd
  • Transpower New Zealand Ltd
  • TrustPower Ltd
  • Urgent Couriers Ltd
  • URS New Zealand Ltd (now Aecom)
  • Vodafone New Zealand Ltd
  • Waimangu Volcanic Valley Ltd
  • Waste Management NZ Ltd
  • Watercare Services Ltd

Source: https://www.wasteminz.org.nz/wp-content/uploads/NZBCSD-Zero-Waste-Project.pdf

2009: BusinessNZ Sustainability Forum formed

BusinessNZ, the peak body for New Zealand business, established a Sustainability Forum to provide a business-centric platform for companies wanting to define and lead sustainable business matters, rather than simply respond to government-led initiatives.

The activities included quarterly forums, events and media activity, elective projects and partner programmes, as well as ongoing member and stakeholder communications. The ability to work together on Special Projects – complex issues arising under tight timeframes – allowed the Forum to be swift and agile in providing practical solutions to newly defined sustainability challenges.

Founding members: Rio Tinto, Toyota, Genesis, Solid Energy, Westpac, NZ Post.

Members since 2010: Fonterra, Meridian, Contact, Landscape Research.

2012: Merger of NZBCSD and BusinessNZ Sustainability Forum

In 2012, The NZ Business Council for Sustainable Development became the Sustainable Business Council (SBC), operating out of BusinessNZ. Jacincta Syme was acting Executive Director January – June 2012, and then took on the role of Manager to December 2013.

Other milestones

2012: Penny Nelson becomes Executive Director, SBC

2015: BusinessNZ becomes carboNZero November 2015 (pre Paris agreement)

2016: Membership grows from 35 to 85

January 2016: Kirk Hope becomes CEO of BusinessNZ

March 2016: Abbie Reynolds becomes Executive Director, SBC

July 2018: Climate Leaders Coalition formed

December 2018: SBC reaches 100 members

June 2019: World Environment Day - SBC celebrates 20 years of helping businesses be the best for New Zealand

What else happened in sustainability in New Zealand 1999 - 2019?